Justin Finch-Fletchley and the Sugar Quills

Band: Justin Finch-Fletchley and the Sugar Quills
Website: Myspace

I bought my first Justin Finch-Fletchley (JFF) CD about a year before I first saw him perform live. I had ordered it at the same time as a whole slew of other Wizard Rock albums, so I listened to it and didn’t give it terribly much thought after that, to be perfectly honest. This isn’t to say I just ignored the album from that point on, but when I was in the mood for some rockin’, I would only occasionally pull out the JFF as opposed to some other band.

So when one year passed and I was at Wrockstock ’08, ready to truly wrock out for the first time, I was sort of standing at the edges of the crowd when Justin took the stage (as opposed to front and center as I was with other bands). As Diagon Alley was for so many people at Wrockstock ’09, JFF was the big “surprise, I fucking ROCK!” performance of the weekend for me that year.

A few weeks before Wrockstock ’08, I had had the opportunity to attend a Whomp the House Tour show featuring JFF and the Whomping Willows, but passed on the opportunity thinking it was sad, but not something I would overly regret. About halfway through Justin’s set, I learned I was dead wrong in that assumption. By that point, I had worked my way into the heart of the crowd and was wrocking at least as hard as anyone within a mile radius.

So what is it that makes Justin Finch-Fletchley and the Sugar Quills such a special and amazing band? It’s all in the energy they put into their performance, the sheer joy Justin has playing and singing his lyrics. While I originally enjoyed the music but wasn’t drawn to listen to it regularly, after seeing a live performance, I see it again in my mind when I listen to his music now, whether or not I’ve seen the song live.

I don’t want to give the impression that I only enjoy JFF when live or that I’ve only liked his music since I saw my first live JFF set. This is by no means the case, but my Justin experience was enhanced so thoroughly by the live performance that I felt the overwhelming desire to share that with all of you.

15 November 2009. Tags: . Band of the Day.

6 Comments

  1. James replied:

    I feel similarly. I never gave much thought to JFFs music before i saw him live but he is such an amazing performer that it enhances the music so much. I can picture him live when i listen to his music now. Which i do more often then i did.

  2. Myrtle Dyes Her Hair replied:

    I wasn’t intrested in JFF, but now I’ll try him.
    😀
    I need to just show my 😀 for something…
    OHMAIF***INGGODI’MONWIZROCKLOPEDIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

  3. eruanna317 replied:

    He really is such an energetic and infectious performer!!! Plus, gotta give props for the mad skills with the kazoo. And I can’t believe how fast he can sing some of those lyrics. I always try to sing along and end up practically choking on my own words! 😀

    • Team Wrocket replied:

      Oh man! How could I forget to mention the kazoo!? I freaking love the kazoo in Wrock, and Justin does it so well. 😀

  4. Andrew replied:

    I feel the same way about Justin’s recorded music – it’s not that I don’t like it (I mean, I own all of his albums), but it doesn’t inspire me the way it does when he performs it live. He truly is one of the most charismatic live acts in the genre.

  5. Heather replied:

    Let’s get real–his set at Wrockstock this year was definitely one of the best, if not THE best, performances of the weekend. So much fun. And the candy! The flowers! The guitar smashing!! Just EPIC.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

